Encourage Yourself In the Lord

1 Samuel 30:5-6 (New International Version)

5 David’s two wives had been captured—Ahinoam of Jezreel and Abigail, the widow of Nabal of Carmel. 6 David was greatly distressed because the men were talking of stoning him; each one was bitter in spirit because of his sons and daughters. But David found strength in the LORD his God.

Depression tried to overtake me. Negative thoughts, voices speaking into my ears, whispering criticisms and everywhere I turned… everybody was going through something .  There was no escaping!  I wasn’t getting a breakthrough at church or from reading scripture.  Finally, I gave into depression and decided to go to bed and pull the covers over my head. 

 Has this ever happened to you?  Have you ever felt like giving up and surrendering to defeat?

As I laid on my bed it occurred to me;  maybe instead of laying here feeling sorry for myself…I should pray.  Just as I began to pray the Lord spoke to me.  He said, “if you continue to lie here, you will become even more depressed, get up and get moving.  I have already overcome for you and the only way you’re  going to lose, is if you continue to lie here and remain in this state of mind.”  So I got up!  And, I began to ” encourage myself in the Lord.”  I started speaking to myself.  “You can’t change anything by staying in this bed.  In fact, some situations you can’t change at all.  The only way you’re going to change anything is by getting out of the bed and moving,  Moving toward the change; causing the change, and/or pressing on in spite of the circumstances.”  The more I spoke to myself the better I began to feel. 

The circumstances around me didn’t immediately change, but I changed the way I felt about them.  Yes, depression was all around me.  But, I determined that I wasn’t going to let it dictate how my day would be spent.  Or, how I would respond to what was happening around me.  It was all up to me.  I could remain depressed or remember that God has everything under control.  And He is working it all out for my good and the good of others.

Perhaps,  you’re going through a situation that has you depressed or discouraged.  Just like David, you can encourage yourself in the Lord your God.  David sought the Lord’s guidance and God told him that if he “got up”  he was going to be successful and recover all.  You should not only seek the Lord’s guidance but remember what He has done for you in the past.  He brought you out before, He’ll bring you out again.

PRAYER FOCUS:  Father, right now I am faced with a difficult situation.  But, I refuse to give into depression or discouragement.  I seek Your guidance and encouragement.  Thank you for ALL the times you worked it out in the past.  IN JESUS’ NAME, AMEN. 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment