Did Juanita Bynum do the Right Thing?

On the homepage and “GREETINGS” page of the site here, there is a link to the Juanita Bynum & husband, Bishop Weeks brouhaha where he was on trial for violently assaulting her in a parking lot last year. There was a media circus about this with many revelations about the violence and sordid behavior in the marriage.  According to the article about the outcome of the trial, she was pressured by his grandfather to write a letter to the court asking for leniency in sentencing him. She wrote it and he got of very lightly. 

I think Juanita is in need of much spiritual and emotional healing. It’s ironic that she is a prophetess, but is not spiritually well.  In my opinion, she is definitely in no position to try to preach to or teach other women how how to conduct themselves in a relationship with their mate.  Primarily, she needs to work on her own healing and realize her VALUE, which she obviously doesn’t know.  When a woman realizes her value, she doesn’t allow a man to mistreat her repeatedly.  This is the main reason why this site is named “BEVALUED,” because we want women to focus a lot more on their value and learn to place a high value on themselves.  Jesus affirmed the value of women and in his teachings, we can see that he considered women and men as equals!  Yet many people in the society still come up with all kinds of reasons, explanations, and excuses for men who beat and mistreat women. Lots of pressure is put on women sometimes to forgive men for assaulting them or not press charges against the men.  No wonder Juanita and other women continue to let the men escape the punishment they deserve.

 Why does Juanita feel it’s okay for her to be any man’s punching bag? I believe it’s only a matter of time before he beats her again, but I hope I’m wrong.   According to articles I read about Bishop Weeks, this is not the first time he has physically attacked Juanita and he even attacked one of the female employees at their big church according to another article I read.  According to that article, this female employee was paid not to press charges.

I think there are many lessons for women to learn from the violence in this relationship. One of the many questions that comes to mind is: Were they equally yoked? I ask this because she was far more famous than he was when they met and this may have caused him to be jealous of her success.  What are some other lessons we can learn from this relationship?

4 Comments

  1. Hello, everything is going sound here and ofcourse every one is
    sharing data, that’s actually good, keep up writing.

  2. Hello, everything is going sound here and ofcourse every one is
    sharing data, that’s actually good, keep up writing.

  3. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this site before but after looking at a
    few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyways, I’m certainly delighted I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and
    checking back often!

  4. If you want to get to a mastery level of interacting with
    hot women, if you want to keep the attraction going once
    you’ve got your foot in the door, then just trust me
    – check out what Joshua’s going to tell you about it:


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment